Official Languages (Amendment) Act 2021

The Official Languages (Amendment) Bill 2019 was enacted on 22 December 2021. A copy of the new Act is available here.

The provisions in the new legislation include:

The new provisions will be implemented over a period of time.

We are currently reviewing our website to take into account the amendments to the legislation arising from the new Act. We hope to conclude this review early in the New Year. In the interim, if you have any question in respect of any specific provision of the new Act, we can be contacted at or by phone at 091-504006.


Schemes Confirmed

The following language schemes have been confirmed under section 11 of the Official Languages Act 2003.

These statutory schemes remain in force for a period of three years or until a new scheme has been confirmed by the Minister for Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media.

The Minister has the right at any time, and no later than 6 months before the scheme expires, to direct the public body to review its current scheme and to prepare a new draft scheme. Where there is a change in the functions of a public body the Minister may, by notice in writing to the public body, propose amendments to its language scheme.

The Office of An Coimisinéir Teanga monitors the provision of services as promised by public bodies under the agreed schemes. The public bodies listed below under the names and with the functions which they had when the schemes were confirmed.

Search Schemes

Organisation Current Schemes Previous Schemes Associated Files
Athlone Institute of Technology
Church of Ireland College of Education
Cork Education and Training Board
Donegal Education and Training Board
Dublin City University
Dublin Dún Laoghaire Education and Training Board
Dundalk Institute Of Technology
Galway - Mayo Institute of Technology
Galway and Roscommon Education and Training Board
Higher Education Authority
Institute of Technology Carlow
Institute of Technology Tallaght
Institute of Technology Tralee
Institute of Technology, Sligo
Kerry Education and Training Board
Kildare and Wicklow Education and Training Board
Laois and Offaly Education and Training Board
Letterkenny Institute Of Technology
Limerick and Clare Education and Training Board
Louth and Meath Education and Training Board
Marino Institute of Education
Mayo, Sligo and Leitrim Education and Training Board
National University of Ireland, Galway
National University of Ireland, Maynooth
Technological University Dublin
Tipperary Education and Training Board
Trinity College
University College Cork
University College Dublin
University of Limerick
Waterford and Wexford Education and Training Board
Waterford Institute of Technology
Ilikecake Ltd